What Is Hari Raya?

14 Oct

What Is Hari Raya?

Hari Raya Aidilfitri (also Hari Raya Puasa, literally “Fasting Day of Celebration”) is the Malay term for the Muslim festival of Eid ul-Fitr. Hari Raya is also known as Lebaran. The day is spent visiting relatives or serving visitors. Hari Raya is a very joyous day for children for this is the day where adults are extra generous. Children will be given token sums of money, also known as duit raya from their parents and elders. Read more here.

What Is Hari Raya?

What is Hari Raya for me? It’s just a boring day where I go for the Raya prayer, ask forgiveness from my parents and siblings and give angpow to my nieces, nephews and grandchildren. Hari Raya is not the same since my last grandmother passed away. Since then, my parents will be staying at home to wait for the younger siblings, nieces, nephews and grandchildren for the first 2 weeks of Raya. My home will be crowded and I will just stay in my room and ignored whoever come. Anyway I’m bad in PR, I don’t khow what to chat about.

What Is Hari Raya?

Nowaday, no one will sent Hari Raya cards, mostly will just sent sms and mms. I received a few smses :

Venkat: Happy Hari raya.Greetings.

Adeq: Salam Aidilfitri Maaf Zahir & Batin Dengan Ingatan Tulus Ikhlas Dari Saya Seisi Keluarga “Yay Raya!!;)

Aman: Eid Mubarak! Salaams. Hv a great day and may God bless you and your family. Peace be to you.

What Is Hari Raya?

Leave a Reply

